Edwin McCain - I Could Not Ask for MoreEdwin McCain - I Could Not Ask for More Happily Ever After Fairy Tales For Every Child - RapunzelHappily Ever After Fairy Tales For Every Child - Rapunzel Cosmic Heroes - Past, Present & FutureCosmic Heroes - Past, Present & Future Ray Price - PricelessRay Price - Priceless Mike Zero - The Shape of Things to ComeMike Zero - The Shape of Things to Come Schweizer Armeespiel - It's ShowtimeSchweizer Armeespiel - It's Showtime Wasteland D.C. - Through Hollow EyesWasteland D.C. - Through Hollow Eyes Lead Belly - Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 7 (1947-1949)Lead Belly - Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 7 (1947-1949)
» » Lara Downes - America Again
Lara Downes - America Again album download

Lara Downes - America Again album download

Lara Downes
America Again
March 7, 2016 - March 11, 2016
Recording location:
Sono Luminus Studios, Boyce, Virginia
MP3 archive size:
1553 mb
FLAC archive size:
1383 mb
Other formats:

Artist: Lara Downes Album: America Again Genre: Modern Classical, Piano Jazz Origin: USA Released: 2016 Quality: mp3, 320 kbps Tracklist: American Caprice I. Waltz in C II. Hesitation Waltz III. Waltz in A Shenandoah (arr. for piano) From Blackbird Hills, O. N. Simone for piano) Sueno Recurrente 13 Anniversaries: No. 3. For Stephen Sondheim Promise Slumber Song Gladiolus Rag The Jazz Singer: Blue Skies (arr. A. Tatum for piano) Fantasie negre Blues No. 1 (Sentimental Melody: Slow Dance) Melancholia Li’l boy named David The Wizard of Oz: Over the Rainbow (arr. for piano). The title of this release comes from a 1938 poem by Langston Hughes ( Let America be America agai. et it be that great strong land of love ). The album appeared before the 2016 .

Lara Downes' new album, America Again, comes out Oct. 28. Rik Keller/Courtesy of the artist. Lara Downes' new album, America Again, comes out Oct. What defines America? There's been a lot of talk about that this election season. Pianist Lara Downes has a musical answer in her upcoming album America Again. To be released Oct. 28, it's a smartly programmed, wide-ranging anthology of solo piano works by American composers past and present; male and female; straight and gay; rich and poor; white, black and Latino. The album's title may evoke a certain presidential candidate's rallying cry, but it's taken from "Let America Be America Again," a poem by Langston Hughes.

Genre: Modern Classical, Piano Jazz Country: USA Year: 2016 Audio codec: MP3 Riptype: tracks Bitrate: 320 kbps Playtime: 01:06:20. Lara Downes – America Again (2016).

Download Now from Novafile. Ambient, Downtempo, Chill Out, Lo-fi, Lounge, New Age, Celtic, Easy Listening. Classical Music, Instrumental, Christian, Gospel. Country, Folk, Blues, Reggae, World.

Downes is one of a very few classical performers to have realized that concert music with influences from jazz and blues or spirituals makes a natural mix with pieces that actually are jazz or blues or spirituals. Thus the program includes such interesting meeting points as an Art Tatum realization of Irving Berlin's Blue Skies and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's fantasy-like Deep River. Perhaps even more fascinating is the depth to which Downes gets into the body of concert music in this vein, so long suppressed by the modernist diktat.

Lara Downes ‎– America Again. Label: Sono Luminus ‎– DSL 92207. Country: US. Released: 28 Oct 2016. Liner Notes, Piano – Lara Downes. Photography – Rik Keller. Technician – Dan Visconti (2). Technician – David Angell. Text By – Langston Hughes.

Luscious, moody and dreamy: America Again, a collection of American music inspired by Langston Hughes's poem Let America Be America Again. Subgenre: Crossover Jazz. Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF). Formats & Prices. Pianist Lara Downes mines the traditions of the concert hall, the American Songbook, jazz, ragtime, and folk ballads to capture the essence of the American dream and the American struggle. As Hughes wrote in 1938, still so true in our time: 'Let America be America again- The land that never has been yet- And yet must be-the land where every man is free. Let America be the dream the dreamers dreamed-Let it be that great strong land of love.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 American Caprice Morton Gould Lara Downes 5:03
New York Waltzes
2 I. Waltz in C Lou Harrison Lara Downes 0:46
3 II. Hesitation Waltz Lou Harrison Lara Downes 1:08
4 III. Waltz in A Lou Harrison Lara Downes 1:19
5 Shenandoah Traditional Lara Downes 3:57
6 From Blackbird Hills Amy Beach Lara Downes 3:50
7 Deep River Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Lara Downes 5:16
Lonesome Roads
8 Nocturne Dan Visconti Lara Downes 1:51
9 At Sea Ernest Bloch Lara Downes 4:19
Porgy & Bess
10 I Love You, Porgy George Gershwin Lara Downes 4:19
11 Sueno Recurrente Angelica Negron Lara Downes 2:46
12 for Stephen Sondheim Leonard Bernstein Lara Downes 1:22
13 Promise David Sanford Lara Downes 2:40
14 Slumber Song Howard Hanson Lara Downes 2:34
15 Gladiolus Rag Scott Joplin Lara Downes 3:43
16 Blue Skies Irving Berlin Lara Downes 3:23
17 Fantasie Negre Florence Price Lara Downes 7:09
18 Sentimental Melody Aaron Copland Lara Downes 1:35
19 Melancholia Duke Ellington Lara Downes 3:01
20 Li'l Boy Named David Roy Harris Lara Downes 3:16
21 Over the Rainbow Harold Arlen Lara Downes 3:02
  • Highly recommended. Great album, colorful sound deep from the deepest off jazz music. The diversity of songs great.