Rephex & ABW - NuclearRephex & ABW - Nuclear Wendy Wylde - A Part Of MeWendy Wylde - A Part Of Me Various Artists - The Last Night of the Proms: The Ultimate CollectionVarious Artists - The Last Night of the Proms: The Ultimate Collection Spring - TransformingSpring - Transforming Billy Lee Riley - Harmonica & the BluesBilly Lee Riley - Harmonica & the Blues Amilcar Flores - Sale el SolAmilcar Flores - Sale el Sol Soulgun - Welcome B[l]ackSoulgun - Welcome B[l]ack Various Artists - Dance Paradise, Vol. 2Various Artists - Dance Paradise, Vol. 2
» » Foals - What Went Down
Foals - What Went Down album download

Foals - What Went Down album download

What Went Down
New Wave/Post-Punk Revival,Indie Rock,Alternative/Indie Rock
Recording location:
Assault & Battery, London
MP3 archive size:
1577 mb
FLAC archive size:
1466 mb
Other formats:

What Went Down is the fourth studio album by British rock band Foals, released on 28 August 2015 via Transgressive Records in the United Kingdom. The album is produced by James Ford, known for his work with Simian Mobile Disco, The Last Shadow Puppets and Arctic Monkeys amongst others. According to frontman Yannis Philippakis, it is slated to be their loudest and heaviest record to date.

What Went Down Lyrics. I buried my heart in a hole in the ground With the lights and the roses and the cowards downtown They threw me a party, there was no one around They tried to call my girl but she could not be found. I buried my guilt in a pit in the sand With the rust and the vultures and the trash downtown So don't step to me, kid, you'll never be found Cause while you were sleeping, I took over your town. When I see a man, I see a lion When I see a man, I see a liar You're the apple of my eye, of my eye, of my eye You're the apple of my eye, of my eye, I want ya. More on Genius. About What Went Down. What Went Down is the title track and lead single of Foals‘ fourth album, featuring a louder, brasher sound more akin to Foals’ live shows than their first three studio records. The track was released alongside a music video, directed by Niall O'Brien. Yannis Philippakis stated

Released August 28, 2015. What Went Down Tracklist. 1. What Went Down Lyrics. The fourth LP by Oxford rockers Foals, featuring a heavier sound more akin to their live shows. As stated by NME’s Mark Beaumont: They’ve mastered math rock, destroyed disco and flattened funk, now they measure hard rock in their hands like a medicine ball, and find it a comfortable weight. What Went Down Q&A.

The new album WHAT WENT DOWN featuring "London Thunder," "A Knife In The Ocean," "Mountain At My Gates" & "What Went Down", is out now: foals. Released by: Warner Bros. Release date: 17 June 2015. P-line: ℗ Warner Music UK Ltd.

Album · 2015 · 10 Songs. The Brit rockers attack right outta the gate, the title track building along a menacing bass line into high-octane stadium rock-this is Foals at their heaviest. But the band's dance-rock roots sashay back in on "Birch Tree", which jumps from hand-clapper to dissonant howler before "Snake Oil" tries on Jane's Addiction's sludgier sound.

Unlike Foals’ two previous albums, What Went Down does not require a drawn-out introduction to explain its intentions. Blue Blood" captured the surprising progression of Total Life Forever in miniature, slowly evolving from the pinging, prickly riffs that defined Antidotes to a cloudbursting crescendo. At this point, Foals have nothing left to prove-they are a big-ticket rock band until further notice, so the opening title track of What Went Down gets right to it with blunt-force, pitch-shifted riffs and Yannis Philippakis promising that you’re gonna hype him up and make him catch a body like that: "So don’t step to me. kid, you’ll never be found.

What Went Down ‎(CD, Album + DVD-V, NTSC + Dlx). Transgressive Records, Warner Bros. 0825646054992, 0825646075034, 0825646069033. What Went Down ‎(Cass, Album, Promo). Transgressive Records.

Foals – 'What Went Down'. Like Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining had it rocked, Foals are a band of gruesome beauty. For their 2013 third album ‘Holy Fire’ they boiled clean and battere. For their 2013 third album ‘Holy Fire’ they boiled clean and battered cow bones for percussion on an album both relentlessly funky and, by Yannis Philippakis’ own admission, stinky of groove. That record felt like having a rave in a huge vat of marshmallow; gorgeous and enveloping, but with moments like ‘My Number’ and ‘Inhaler’ to cling on to. For ‘What Went Down’, written in their Oxford stinkbox, they have found their fulcrum.

After the international chart success of 2013's Holy Fire, Foals officially embrace that album's rich, atmospheric post-punk revivalism over the rawer math rock tendencies of earlier LPs for their fourth full-length, What Went Down. Only ghostly traces of math rock remain on the album, such as when sustained synths wash over interlocking drum-guitar meters on the closer, "A Knife in the Ocean. The majority of the record avoids any prior levels of intricacy, opting instead for intense airiness in the form of passionate, danceable ruminations.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 What Went Down Foals Foals 5:00
2 Mountain at My Gates Foals Foals 4:04
3 Birch Tree Foals Foals 4:21
4 Give It All Foals Foals 4:47
5 Albatross Foals Foals 5:23
6 Snake Oil Foals Foals 4:21
7 Night Swimmers Foals Foals 4:44
8 London Thunder Foals Foals 4:14
9 Lonely Hunter Foals Foals 4:37
10 A Knife in the Ocean Foals Foals 6:52
  • Four albums deep and Foals keep mastering the sound they want to be known for. In What Went Down they've created a lush and rich album that features a range not heard on their previous three efforts. While they rely less on their math-rock trademark, they haven't dumbed down their sound, they've amplified it further. 'Mountain At My Gates' and 'Birch Tree' in particular welcome you to a modified tradition. There's less math-rock, less U2/Coldplay reverb and echo. What appears are new influences, a sharpening of their own style and the direction they wish to be known for. With 'Birch Tree' in particular, the introduction highlights this with the influenced, the new and the old. 'Give it All' continues down this path of a changed sound. It includes some nostalgic 80s synth-pop "oriental" guitar sounds (ala Bowie's China Girl) with again, beautiful, liquid vocals from Yannis.'Night Swimmers', is one of the darker efforts, closer to the title track, but it isn't all about being loud and industrial. There's a fantastic effect, close to Total Life Forever's 'Spanish Sahara' of building to this, but not taking an age to get there. Yannis' vocals are given the public-address effect and there's an airiness to the song, with stunning interludes featuring that signature Foals feel. With a lush, almost washed-out vocal effort, "We swim under the moon, in the cool blue lagoon" the title is apt and the song takes you there. Some of the weaker efforts on the album include the title track and 'Snake Oil'. Kudos for attempting to introduce a louder, brasher and more industrial sound, but it just doesn't hit the mark with Yannis' style, or the band. Lyrics like "I fell for a girl with a port-wine stain, I knew her initials but never her name." and an odd singing-drawl in 'Snake Oil' create a feeling of pretence. 'London Thunder' and 'A Knife in the Ocean' round out the album and are cavernous in production. They're slower, deeper and darker in feeling and clearly demonstrate their incredible range.While there are a couple of missed marks, the album is a clear demonstration of what they can achieve and where their talents are. They've solidified their sound and completed their best album yet.

  • Foals are very responsible when we are talking about quality of their records. They did decent job as usual.