Southern All Stars - Yeah!!Southern All Stars - Yeah!! Various Artists - Country Music [2011]Various Artists - Country Music [2011] Spice Girls - ForeverSpice Girls - Forever Rebecca Cervera - Daughter of a KingRebecca Cervera - Daughter of a King Deer Tick - Deer Tick, Vol. 2Deer Tick - Deer Tick, Vol. 2 Bjorn Lynne - SootheBjorn Lynne - Soothe Karaoke - HappyKaraoke - Happy Grup Tres - Altres ValorsGrup Tres - Altres Valors
» » Darren English - Imagine Nation
Darren English - Imagine Nation album download

Darren English - Imagine Nation album download

Darren English
Imagine Nation
September 22, 2014 - September 23, 2014
Recording location:
The Murray Soundlab, Kennesaw, GA
MP3 archive size:
1773 mb
FLAC archive size:
1671 mb
Other formats:

Darren English: Imagine Nation by Dan Bilawsky, published on April 1, 2016. Trumpeter Darren English carries the spirit of South Africa and the entire history of jazz in his horn. On this, his debut album, the Cape Town-born, Atlanta-based English pays tribute to the late Nelson Mandela, matches wits and chops with fellow trumpeters Russell Gunn and Joe Gransden on "Cherokee," partners with vocalist Carmen Bradford on a pair of classics, and goes toe-to-toe with saxophonist Greg Tardy on "Bullet In The Gunn. He comes away from all of it sounding confident, focused, and fresh. That's no easy feat, and he's clearly no slouch

Darren English: Imagine Nation by Mark Sullivan, published on May 9, 2016. South African trumpeter Darren English (now living in Atlanta) makes an impressive debut on Imagine Nation, a mix of originals and standards. The album's centerpiece is formed by three compositions that are part of a suite paying tribute to freedom fighter Nelson Mandela. The title tune opens the album, an anthemic piece played by English with the core group of pianist Kenny Banks Jr., bassist Billy Thornton, and drummer Chris Burroughs. English makes an immediate impression, as a composer and a bravura soloist, paired with a strong band.

DARREN ENGLISH - Imagine Nation. Filed under Post Bop By DARREN ENGLISH. Listening to Imagine Nation, its hard to believe that this is trumpeter Darren English’s first album, his playing and compositional skills sound far beyond a beginner. Darren has a well developed technique, and a bright clean sound reminiscent of Clifford Brown, or possibly Wynton Marsalis. When things get heated, he brings on a full brassy attack that recalls Freddie Hubbard or Lee Morgan. Imagine Nation opens up strong with an original rambunctious post bop workout that bears the title of the album

Darren English, Adon English ve 13 diğer kişi ile birlikte. I'm extremely happy to announce that I was just awarded Winner of the ards USA in the Jazz category voted by the Grammy® Award winning jury, for my composition and recording of 'Pledge for Peace' recorded on my debut album "ImagineNation" (HotShoe Records). We give you all the praise, Lord. Hello Darren, This is Léan Crowley, assistant publisher with JAZZIZ Magazine. I’m contacting you about Imagine Nation.

With the release of Imagine Nation, his authoritative recording debut as a leader, trumpeter Darren English announces in no uncertain terms the arrival of a new rising star on the global jazz scene. Genre: Jazz: Contemporary Jazz. We'll ship when it's back in stock.

Darren English, a young trumpeter from Cape Town, South Africa now living in Atlanta, makes his recording debut with the March release of Imagine Nation.

Artist: Darren English. Album: Imagine Nation. Label: Hot Shoe Records. Release Date: 03/11/2016. Though there are moments or two where he stumbles in content in the three part suite to Nelson Mandela, English, all of twenty-six and hearlding from Cape Town, South Africa, carries a great deal of jazz both past and present in his horn. And, with Imagine Nation, his debut release, you can hear it all in his warm, embracing, evolving tone, his winding originals, and his integrity, grace, and inventive-ness with ageless covers.

South African trumpeter Darren English has released Imagine Nation, his 10-track debut that features four of his original compositions, five standards, and a Dizzy Gillespie piece. His tempo, harmony and structure on the title track, a self-written romp through modern jazz heaven, immediately show his skills and characteristics not only as a top-notch trumpet player, but as a composer and arranger as well. The longer, almost 12-minute The Birth is by far the most ambitious and dramatic song on the album with a lot of high-pitched notes and tremendous interplay which delivers its full effect after more than a couple of listens. I like Carmen much better on Skylark, the Johnny Mercer/Hoagy Carmichael standard where she can be heard in total with her rich, contrasting voice.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Imagine Nation Darren English Darren English 7:04
2 Body and Soul Darren English / Frank Eyton / Johnny Green / Edward Heyman / Robert Sour Darren English 5:46
3 Bebop Darren English / John Birks Gillespie Darren English 3:56
4 What a Little Moonlight Can Do Darren English / Harry Woods Darren English 4:14
5 Pledge for Peace Darren English Darren English 7:15
6 The Birth Darren English Darren English 11:43
7 Skylark Hoagy Carmichael / Darren English / Johnny Mercer Darren English 6:09
8 I've Never Been in Love Before Darren English / Frank Loesser Darren English 7:37
9 Bullet in the Gunn Darren English Darren English 7:23
10 Cherokee Darren English / Ray Noble Darren English 6:38